What are the other types of yoga explained in Bhagavad gita?

What are the other types of yoga explained in Bhagavad gita?

Our Answer:
In the Bhagavad-gita, Krishna talks about three main divisions of yoga practice: astanga-yoga, jnana-yoga, and bhakti-yoga.

Astanga-yoga, also known as dhyana or hatha-yoga, refers to the system of sitting postures and breath control meant to bring about the peace of mind required for meditating on the Supersoul, the feature of the Supreme Person residing within each material body.

Jñana-yoga, refers to philosophical analysis of the material elements to become free from attachment to material existence. Practice of jnana-yoga enables one to merge into brahman, the impersonal feature of the Supreme.

Bhakti-yoga is the direct process of establishing a relationship of loving service to the Supreme Person, Krishna.

Krishna mentions each of these processes in His conversation with Arjuna. He then gives His opinion that since bhakti-yoga is the most direct process—it immediately puts one into direct contact with the Supreme Person, rather than after long practice of asanas or mental gymnastics—it is the best of the three.

This article more fully explains these points.

Related Topics:

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com
Scroll to Top